PAL

February 23, 2007

A simple fix for a few problems

I’ve been living in this apartment now since December.  It’s for the most part pretty accessible.  The kitchen is big enough to turn around in, and the bathroom is really big.  I have been having some issues when it comes to transfering from my wheelchair to the toilet though.

The toilet is between the cabinets and bathtub, so we couldn’t attach a grab bar to the wall.  It wouldn’t make sense to attach one to the end of the cabinets because it just wouldn’t hold up to the weight.  I thought about this for awhile and came up with a solution.  I got a bathtub rail that clamps onto the side of the tub.  It’s next to the toilet, so I can grab it to transfer, and I can also use it to help pull myself onto my bath bench!  Also when I move out there wont be any holes in the wall to fill.

I just thought I’d share this idea with everyone in case it could help someone else.  If you have any unique ways you have solved a problem like this why not leave a comment?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

