PAL

March 17, 2007

Delta Barrington Hotel

Filed under: Accessibility, Canada, Disability, Halifax, Life, Reviews, What were they thinking?!, Wheelchair — Kim & Sophie @ 3:15 pm

delta BarringtonAfter leaving the Delta Halifax, we drove down the street to the Delta Barrington. We couldn’t park in front of the hotel because the space was filled with cars, so we had to waqit until one of them was moved. When we finally had an open parking spot, Julian pulled into it, but couldn’t get close enough to the curb, so he had to lift me out of the car, over th gap between the car and curb, and then into my wheelchair. As he sat me in my chair, it sliped backwards a bit and I ended up sitting on the edge of my cushion, but we managed to get me positioned right. My breaks are not the best, and combined with the wet sidewalk, and very cold air it made for some very interesting transfers!

Once we were inside, the girl at the desk knew who we were, and Julian suggested that I go upstairs and check out the room to see if it was ok before we checked in. I just wanted to lay down on a nice bed, and relax by this time, and grumbled a little, but I agreed. The same young guy who bought our luggage in went upstairs with me to show me the room.

Again, the elevator buttons were so high I couldn’t even reach the lowest one! I could reach most of the ones on the inside, but if I couldn’t reach the buttons on the outside to get the elevator in the beginning, it wouldn’t be of much use at all!

The first room was tiny! I could fit into the bathroom, but couldn’t close the door! The sink was on my left, but I couldn’t turn to use it. The toilet was in front of me, but again I wouldn’t be able to actually use it, and the bathtub was behind the open door, which I couldn’t close! The room itse;f wasn’t much better! The bottom of the beds were so close to the cabnet holding the tv that I could just get through, but would have to back out and the beds were squeezed so close together that I physically couldn’t fit between them!

The guy decided to call the front desk to see what other rooms they had. We went to another floor and on the way to the room he told me that he really didn’t think the next rom would work because the bathroom door was narrower. We looked at it anyway and he was totally right! I couldn’t even fit through the bathroom door! The room was a tiny bit bigger, because the bathroom was a tiny bit smaller. He called back down to the front desk and found out that there were no more rooms that might work.

On our way back down to the lobby he told me that he usually passes kids on that floor who are jumping in the air trying to reach the elevator buttons! The swimming pool is on that floor and they go swimming, but can’t reach the buttons to get back to their room. I thought that was slightly amusing. That should have told someone that wheelchair users wouldn’t be able to reach the buttons either! Wait, seeing how wheelchair users can’t even stay in the hotel, I guess they don’t have to worry about us reaching the buttons!

Considering the girl said the rooms were “considered to be wheelchair accessible” we should have known this would happen! She told Julian they had wheelchair users stay there before, but I really don’t see how unless they could walk into the bathroom no matter what size their wheelchair was.

We got the same guy to go through his list of other hotels in the area and decided on the Westin Nova Scotian. I had been to a conference there before, and although I didn’t stay there, it seemed like it should have at least one “accessible” room. Julian made the phone call, and they did have a room availible!

If I could have, by this point I would have crossed my fingers, and toes! We got everything packed back into the car, and off we went down the street to the Westin, hoping that we would have better luck!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

