PAL

May 4, 2007

My cushion is here!

Filed under: Disability, Health, Hints & Tips, Life, Reviews, Wheelchair — Kim & Sophie @ 11:14 pm

roho2Today I got my cushion.  Does this sound familiar?  It should!  Not too long ago I was writing about getting another cushion!  Unfortunatly, it didn’t work out.  I tried the cushion for awhile, but realized that I wouldn’t be able to use it on my new wheelchair because when it was bent a tiny bit a huge wrinkle would form across the whole cushion.  My new wheelchair is going to have an ergonomic seat.  This means that the last 6 inches of the seat will be level with the ground, then the frame bends.  I need a cushion that can sit on the frame and bend at the same angle.  The Roho Quadtro Select cushion will do just that!  Of course it is made of rubber, which isn’t the best when you have a latex allergy like I have, but if I’m really careful I don’t have to actually touch any of the rubber.

I really like this cushion.  There’s a sliding button on the front.  If you push it one way it lets the air circulate throughout the whole cushion, but if you slide it the opposite way the air is trapped in four different sections.  This makes the cushion more stable.  I can’t sit on other Roho cushions because they don’t have this, and they are way too unstable.  With this cushion I can also have more air in the front two sections and less in the back two.  smoothieThis helps with sitting balance, and I can also push more air out of one of the back sections so my pelvis is level when sitting!  It’s great!

I took a break while writing this to watch the movie “Cars“.  I watched most of it with Julian the last time he was here, but I fell asleep and missed a lot of it.  It was good. 

Earlier tonight I decided to try out my new cushion and went to the grocery store to get a few things.  I also stopped to get a strawberry and banana smoothie, but I swear the girl just made me a strawberry one.  I didn’t realize this until I was home.  Sophie had a doggy sundae!  They put a spoonful of vanilla ice cream in a dish with a milk bone stuck in it!  She loves them.  I always have to pick the milk bone out and feed it to her though, because she tries to eat all of the ice cream too.  Tonight she ate a big mouthful of ice cream and had it all over her tongue and was licking her tongue out like crazy!  It was sooo cute!

1 Comment »

  1. Heya kim, that cushion is the same one Bree uses, she’s got 3 of them. I can attest, VERY comfortable! She uses one in bed too. Never given her a pressure sore, or discomfort at all. Highly recommended.

    your bud, Rick

    Comment by Rick — August 17, 2007 @ 6:13 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

